A sarcastic blog about the funny things in life.

Education: A Privilege

Ever since being kicked from the GS team, I’ve had my account locked out from playing Megaten. The reason: the GM’s wanted an ‘apology’ for what I had ‘done’. It wasn’t enough that they had removed me from the team, but trying to exert their power craving by locking out my account was really just a poor excuse for management.

Six days ago, I conversed with BunBun over my situation. After talking for around an hour, I presented all the information to her that I had, and was able to get this statement out of her: GM BunBun (3/20/2011 12:16:42 PM): and you admit that you have made a mistake. that’s the key point i think

After this, she informed me to send in an RT to have the matter looked over again by her. What I was not told however, was the fact that the standard 48 hour RT reply did not apply to my ‘very special case’. Apparently, in matters such as these, the entire GM team needs to be present. Why the GM management decides to be a bureaucracy, and have two people do the job of one, I will never understand. However, in this case it takes 4 people to look over the same sentences, on the same paper, written the exact same way, to come to a conclusion.

Unfortunately, it takes more than 4 people to write up a properly worded reply.

Dear SHARKLEG,

Thank you for contacting us and we appreciate your patience.

We have reviewed the past records and noticed there might have been some misunderstanding.  It was not our intention to ask you to apologize to the public; rather, we just wanted you to accept the fact that what you made mistakes and apologize to us (as in Team MegaTen).  Once we hear a formal apology via RT, we will go ahead and unblock your in-game account.

We hope this clarifies and look forward to hearing back from you.

Thank you,

Team MegaTen

Sorry, but I don’t want to apologize for mistakes ‘that what I’ made. If this is the type of RT that people get when they have actual problems instead of “Where’s my AP!?” then God helps us all when we are in need.

So what do I do when faced with lower minds in higher places? What I should have done from the first place: complain to their boss.

2011-03-23 20:33:40 Ticket created

SHARKLEG (5539531) sent a message using the contact form at
http://www.aeriagames.com/contact/billing.

Issue: Other

Payment Method: Other

Transaction/Order Number: To Superman0X

Dear Superman0X,
I was a Megaten Gamesage from May of 2010 until January 27th, 2011. My
reasons for contacting you is because since being kicked from the team, I
have since been blocked out from logging into Megaten, on grounds that the
Megaten GM Team would like an ‘apology’ for my past actions.

As said by GM Greywulf: GM Greywulf (1/28/2011 8:44:24 PM): I would like
a formal apology to be presented before that happens. This apology would be
in regards to the wordpress nonsense, the general attitude that you have
had with the sages, GMs, and players. Also, on how you addressed players in
the forums and shoutbox as of recently (including unnecessary posting such
as that text image)
GM Greywulf (1/28/2011 8:44:55 PM): Also the fact that you were present
in game, and in the YIM chat, where you were invisible to the whole staff
when we wanted to get information about certain things

I find many things wrong with that above statement. Firstly, I was kicked
out of the GS program on the 27th, with the RT #5136961 being my dismissal.
The blog post that he is referring to is this:
https://sharkleg.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/about-fucking-time/ If you notice
the timestamp on that post, it was made on the 28th, a day after me being
kicked. I don’t see the grounds for making me apologize when at that time I
was a normal player with no strings attached to the Megaten GM Team and was
posted on a 3rd party site.

As for the images that I posted in the shoutbox, yes, I knew those were
wrong, which is why the matter was resolved partially on the 13th with GM
Scoville, and then fully resolved on the 19th.

As the YIM chatlog shows: J S (1/19/2011 5:59:58 PM): Oh, and I wasn’t here
for it, but I guess there was some player rant that you made into an image
or something? I read the rant and it was pretty lol but please don’t post
that kind of thing in the SB, we don’t want players thinking the GSes make
fun of them
J S (1/19/2011 6:00:20 PM): You can say what you want in private, but
remember public stuff is stuff EVERYONE sees
nameisinthegame (1/19/2011 6:00:40 PM): Ok.

This matter was resolved on the 19th, so I see in no way shape or form how
it became something to then become a factor in me being kicked eight days
later.

Three days ago, I conversed with GM BunBun as to why I was still blocked;
which, after much talk, she told me to send in an RT to request that the
matter be reviewed. (#5433217)

The reply that I received was shocking, and felt like my case hadn’t been
carefully reviewed like I was promised. There was no misunderstanding on
where this ‘apology’ should be posted, as I was cynically told by GM
Greywulf where to post it.

nameisinthegame (1/28/2011 8:47:03 PM): And to where would this be posted?
Kevin Wallace (1/28/2011 8:48:00 PM): I want this to be sent to the entire
GM Team via Yim

I see no grounds for me making any sort of apology for my actions, when
they were all dealt with before. If I wasn’t doing what they expected of
me, then I see it right in their own management to remove me from the team.
However, I do not see why I would then be required to apologize, when I
know several other GameSages have been removed in the past for ‘bad
behavior’ and have not had to do the same.

Thank you for reading this and I hope it can be resolved soon.

Sincerely,
SHARKLEG

I guess, with the amazing management that the Megaten Team has, they actually look through their evidence and rectify themselves when they are wrong. Their reply is nothing more than an excuse; something hashed together when they don’t want to address the situation. If they wanted me off the team and had just reasons, then kick me. That’s what they did to Bunny; to lndi; to Royce. Why am I being treated any different?

They wanted me to apologize for this blog post. That was posted on the 28th, and I have the official dated RT that I received on the 27th stating that I had been removed. That would make me a normal player at the time, and in no way shape or form a ‘representative of AGE’. And yet, I’m being demanded to apologize for something that was posted on a 3rd party site, as a normal player. Didn’t D4D (a Product Manager who is higher up than a Game Moderator) say here that a blog, “Regarding your personal blog, quite simply this is not Aeria’s property and whether or not you express admiration or dislike for Megaten or any Aeria game is fully your right.”

Further on the page it even states: “I know you have a been a veteran player and long time customer of Megaten and
let me be the first to say we certainly do appreciate your dedication to this game as we do for any player of Megaten.” I’ve played this game for 2 years, and have bought and used AP on the game, so why can’t I receive the same treatment that D4D gave to Royce and have my account unblocked? I think unblocking is further down on the list than being fully banned is.

And now, it’s been 3 days since I sent in that RT to Superman demanding a proper response, and guess what? I haven’t received even an automated response. I guess management requirements don’t apply to everyone, and if you’re not in bed with the GM’s then you can’t even get an educated response. If I wanted to deal with childish responses, then I would have looked into become a Teacher.

/NAme

inb4 I suddenly get an RT response

10 responses

  1. You haven’t gotten a response yet because you sent the RT to Billing, and the logical conclusion is that Billing probably takes weekends off.

    Granted, this is a supremely idiotic excuse to stall your situation for time on their end, but I wouldn’t be surprised at all if that’s what they come up with. Or even worse, that stuff aimed at product managers and suchlike isn’t supposed to be sent via Billing and that they’re going to ignore your RT.

    03/26/2011 at 9:14 pm

    • Even though they always tell us to send in complaints about the GM team to Billing if they don’t want them to be seen.

      03/26/2011 at 9:16 pm

  2. Aki

    Note that, if anyone were to compare us and the stuff we wrote on our blog, I’m supposed to get a heavier punishment, perhaps a ban considering you getting blocked.

    What made me laughed was the fact that they composed such a short reply to a situation that you had thoroughly explained. Best part yet, they want you to apologize for writing a personal thought on a personal site when you are the one who gets screwed up without any good reason. This pretty much sums up fascism, eh?

    03/26/2011 at 9:33 pm

    • “guess what, feelings can get you into trouble now, in this new day and age” ~Direct quote~

      03/26/2011 at 11:02 pm

      • Aki

        It applies to that moron who said that too. I hope he can find a good job if he get sacked from his current job.

        03/27/2011 at 4:08 am

  3. Pu

    Say “I apologize for my behavior” to the offended ones? Y U so normal, no way! You must shout to “everybody” (this professional blog + the efficient and serious office of AGE forums and YIM) “I SO SOWWY MASTERS, I’ve learned my lesson </333"! xDDD

    Haha, some people grind so hard trying to make others think they're much more valuable/important than they really are (and using such weird means), pro life goal. If those people act like that in job, imagine how they relate with other humans irl. Ew?

    I have no idea why you, after all these absurd stories, still determined to play LO. It's Aeria, NAme…. Different GMs and game won't change the scenario much drastically.

    03/28/2011 at 7:30 am

    • Because I want to make a whore house to make money in LO. It’s been my dream since I was young.

      03/28/2011 at 8:16 pm

      • Aki

        inb4, whore house is banned.

        03/29/2011 at 11:42 am

  4. Michi

    Can’t wait to see if they can find a loophole out of this one. 😀

    04/01/2011 at 4:30 am

  5. LOL@U

    05/16/2011 at 11:18 pm

Leave a comment